Category Archives: PATHFINDERS

SUMMER OLYMPICS

Posted on by 2

SPORTS

OFFICIAL OLYMPIC SITE

http://www.olympic.org/uk/sports/

OFFICIAL CHINA 2008 SITE

http://en.beijing2008.cn/sports/

NBC OLYMPICS

http://www.nbcolympics.com/

WIKIPEDIA

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page Enter the name of your Olympic sport in the search box on the main Wikipedia page.

BBC SPORT

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympics/default.stm. The British Broadcasting Company (BBC) website. News and explanations of all events from a British perspective.

COUNTRY WEBSITES

1. https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html Use this site to find country information. Click on the drop down menu to find your country.

2. http://www.countryreports.org See Mr. Barnett for the username and password.   Use this resource to find information on your country.

Online Databases

GALE DATABASES (INFOTRAC) See Mr. Barnett for the password.

Olympic Ring & Torch/Flame

http://www.olympic.org/uk/utilities/faq_detail_uk.asp?rdo_cat=10_39_0

Olympic Creed and Motto:

http://www.mapsofworld.com/olympic-trivia/olympic-motto.html

1. http://www.olympic.org/uk/sports/index_uk.asp. This UK site of the Olympic Movement offers some good information on the sports and events, but requires the user to make multiple clicks to get to the information. Flash videos are available on each sport, explaining rules and techniques.

Bibliography Help — How to cite the resources that you used.

http://secondary.oslis.org/resources/cm/mlacitationss This site helps students put information in the correct order.

BOOKS

The World Book Encyclopedia: 2002, 2003, 2004 & 2007. REF 030 WOR (Location: General Collection, 5th shelf — 14 sets available)

Sports: the complete visual reference REF 796.022 FOR (Location: Reference Room). Text, pictures, and photographs explain the history, rules, strategies, and equipment for 127 sports. (3 copies available)

The everything you want to know about sports encyclopedia REF 796.03 EVE (Location: Reference Room). A fact-filled encyclopedia loaded with answers to sports questions. (1 copy available)

Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures (9 volumes) REF 306.03 JUN (Location: Reference Room). Information arranged by country then by culture – subheadings include “sports” and “recreation”

Chronicle of the Olympics 796.48 CHR. A photographic chronicle of the Olympics, presenting highlights from each of the summer and winter games, from the first Olympiad in Athens in 1896 through the Atlanta games in 1996, with a look at what’s in store for the 1998 Nagano event. (1 copy available)

Olympic games. 796.48 OXL. Surveys the history and traditions of the Olympics, highlighting memorable events from ancient Greece to present day. (3 copies available)

HOME

AMERICAN HISTORY – BIOGRAPHY

Posted on by 0

1. BIOGRAPHY RESOURCE CENTER (InfoTrac) http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581

a. Enter password: see the whiteboard

b. Click on the “proceed” button

c. Click on “Biography Resource Center”

d. Enter the last name of your person, click on “start of last name” button

e. Click the “Search” button
f. Next, click on one of the articles about your person.

2. STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER JUNIOR (InfoTrac)
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581
a. Enter password: See whiteboard or handout

b. Click on the “proceed” button
c. Click on “Student Resource Center – Junior”
d. Type the name of your person in the find box and click on “search”
At least one link containing an article on your person will now be displayed. Click on one of them. If more than one appears, click on the one that has the name of your person prominently displayed.

E. Click on the “BOOK” tab and you will be taken to a list of reference books.

3. WIKIPEDIA http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

********************************************************
WorldBook – to access World Book locally on your computer, simply click on the oval blue icon at the bottom of your dock. If it asks you to register, just click on later – click “no” if it asks you to update.
*******************************************************
PRINT TO PRINTER B

****** B O O K S ******
1) REF 030 WOR
The World Book Encyclopedia: 2002, 2003, 2004 & 2007. Use the index in volume 22 to help you find your information.
(Location: Fifth shelf and between OPAC computers)

2. REF 920.003 ENC
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Presents brief biographical sketches that provide vital statistics as well as
information on the importance of the person listed. Information is organized
alphabetically. (Location: Reference Room)

3. REF 920.02 PEA
Explorers & Discovers
Use both the alphabetical “Content” page at the front of each book and the “index” at the back of the book to locate the information you need.
(Location: Reference Room)

4. REF 910 EXP
EXPLORERS AND EXPLORATION
Provides information on explorers — arranged alphabetically – Index in vol. 11.
(Location: Reference Room)

5. 92
Biographies
There are many fine biographies in the biography section of the library.
(Location: Fourth Shelf – General Collection)
_______________________

For citation help, please go to http://old.oslis.org/MLACitations/secondary/index.php Select the type of publication you are using and follow the prompts.
You may copy and paste information you find into “Word.” SAVE ALL WORK!!!!
DO NOT PRINT OUT MULTIPLE PAGES. CONSULT WITH MR. BARNETT, MRS. TUCKER, MRS. HAYASHI, OR MRS. MARHENKE BEFORE PRINTING.

BIOGRAPHY_PAPER_POWERPOINT

GENETIC DISORDER PATHFINDER

Posted on by 0

DATABASES

1. http://www.teenhealthandwellness.com/
username: password: (see white board for info)

STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER JUNIOR — PASSWORD: (see white board for info)
GALE’S VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY — PASSWORD: (see white board for info)
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581
PASSWORD: (see white board for info)

Gale’s Virtual Reference Library contains electronic versions of the U*X*L title Sick!

_______________________________________________

WEBSITES

1. http://www.webmd.com/ This site contains information on most diseases.

2. http://kidshealth.org/ After clicking on the kid or teen pages, enter your disease in the search box and click search for a list of links.

3. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

4. http://www.kidslearnaboutdiabetes.org/ Easy to understand information about diabetes.

5. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/tutorials/ Tutorials on ALS, Cystic Fibrosis, Diabetes & Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Students, there are also many other national and official websites that are devoted to the prevention of many of these diseases. They also have specialized information regarding many of these diseases.

Remember, when doing a search using a search engine like Google.com, only select those resources from official and credible websites.
_______________________________________________

BOOKS

The World Book Encyclopedia (22 vols.) REF 030 WOR

Sick! (4 vols.) REF 610 SIC

Presents articles describing the causes and symptoms, diagnosis, treatment (both traditional and alternative), prognosis, and prevention of various diseases, disorders, injuries, and infections.

Encyclopedia of Health (2 sets – 16 vols. & 14 vols.) REF 610.3 ENC

Diseases (8 vols.) REF 616.003 DIS
Alphabetically arranged articles present medical information on more than 400 diseases, discussing sources, symptoms, stages of the disease, and its likelihood of striking, treatments, prevention, and long-term effects.
_______________________________________________

HEALTH PROJECT PATHFINDER

Posted on by 3

Databases & Websites

1. http://www.teenhealthandwellness.com/
See library staff for usernames and passwords

2. http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581

3. http://www.brainpop.com

 

_________________________________________

WEBSITES

1. http://www.webmd.com/ This site contains information on most diseases.

2. http://kidshealth.org/ After clicking on the kid or teen pages, enter your disease in the search box and click search for a list of links.

3. http://www.kidsclick.org/ Enter the name disease and click search. This will bring up several quality websites related to your topic.

4. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

5. http://www.kidslearnaboutdiabetes.org/ Easy to understand information about diabetes.

Students there are also many other national and official websites that are devoted to the prevention of many of these diseases. They also have specialized information regarding many of these diseases.

For example, lungcancer.org and cancer.gov both provide information on cancer, its symptoms, and its treatment. The University of Virginia also has an asthma tutorial found at http://www.healthsystem.virginia.edu/internet/pediatrics/patients/Tutorials/asthma/.

Remember, when doing a search using a search engine like Google.com, only select those resources from official and credible websites.

________________________________________

BOOKS pages-turn

The World Book Encyclopedia (22 vols.) REF 030 WOR

Sick! (4 vols.) REF 610 SIC

Presents articles describing the causes and symptoms, diagnosis, treatment (both traditional and alternative), prognosis, and prevention of various diseases, disorders, injuries, and infections.

Encyclopedia of Health (2 sets – 16 vols. & 14 vols.)REF 610.3 ENC

Diseases (8 vols.) REF 616.003 Dis

Alphabetically arranged articles present medical information on more than 400 diseases, discussing sources, symptoms, stages of the disease, and its likelihood of striking, treatments, prevention, and long-term effects.

The Respiratory System — 612.2 GOL

The Digestive and Excretory Systems — 612.3 GOL

The Musculoskeletal System and the Skin — 612.7 GOL

Asthma — 616.2 LEN

There are many other books that contain information on your disease. However, you do have to find and read them.

IMPORTANT NUMBERS FOR YOU TO KNOW – 600s

600s – Applied Science

The Dewey Decimal range you should know is 610 to 616. There are a few other books that do have some information in them that are outside of that range. For example, For All to See: a Teen’s Guide to Healthy Skin, is found at the Dewey call number of 646.726 SIM; it has a chapter on melanoma (skin cancer).

WINTER OLYMPICS PATHFINDER

Posted on by 1

Online Databases

http://www.countryreports.org Check your pathfinder for your username and password. Use this resource to find information on your country.

Gale database – Student Resource Center Junior — Check with Mr. Barnett for the login information.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581

WEBSITES

1. http://www.olympic.org/uk/sports/index_uk.asp. This UK site of the Olympic Movement offers some good information on the sports and events, but requires the user to make multiple clicks to get to the information.
2. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/other_sports/winter_sports/

winter_olympics/sport_guides/default.stm. The British Broadcasting Company (BBC) website. News and explanations of all events from a British perspective.


3. http://www.torino2006.org/ENG/OlympicGames/

sport_ed_atleti/sport_ed_atleti.html Official Turin website. Scroll down and click on a specific sport then click on “rules” to find out more.


4. http://www.olympic-usa.org/ This site gives news and information about the sports and athletes from an American point of view. Click on the drop down menu to find your sport. Clicking on your sport will take you to the “official” site for that sport.


5. http://www.infoplease.com/spot/winter-olympics.html. Scroll down or click on the drop down menu to find your sport. Also, enter the name of your sport or country in the search box to bring up other articles on your sport or country.


6. http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/sports/

longterm/olympics1998/sport.htm. Done for the 1998 games, this site still offers good explanations on the sports. After clicking on your sport, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on “everything you need to know about”

7. https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html Use this site to find country information. Click on the drop down menu to find your country.

Olympic Ring & Torch/Flame

http://www.olympic.org/uk/utilities/faq_detail_uk.asp?rdo_cat=10_39_0

Olympic Creed and Motto: http://www.mapsofworld.com/olympic-trivia/olympic-motto.html

How to cite the resources that you used — Works Cited Page (bibliographic info).


http://www.oslis.org/MLACitations/secondary/index.php This site helps students put information in the correct order.

BOOKS

The World Book Encyclopedia. REF 030 WOR (Location: General Collection, 5th shelf — 14 sets available)


Sports: the complete visual reference REF 796.022 FOR (Location: Reference Room). Text, pictures, and photographs explain the history, rules, strategies, and equipment for 127 sports. (3 copies available)

The everything you want to know about sports encyclopedia REF 796.03 EVE (Location: Reference Room). A fact-filled encyclopedia loaded with answers to sports questions. (1 copy available)


Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures (9 volumes) REF 306.03 JUN (Location: Reference Room). Information arranged by country then by culture – subheadings include “sports” and “recreation”

Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (9 volumes) REF 910.3 JUN. Organized in ABC order by country name – subheadings include GOVERNMENT, ECONOMY, INDUSTRY.

The Complete Book of the Winter Olympics 796.98 WAL. Facts and statistics of the Winter Olympics (1924-2002).


Chronicle of the Olympics 796.48 CHR. A photographic chronicle of the Olympics, presenting highlights from each of the summer and winter games, from the first Olympiad in Athens in 1896 through the Atlanta games in 1996, with a look at what’s in store for the 1998 Nagano event. (1 copy available)


Olympic games. 796.48 OXL. Surveys the history and traditions of the Olympics, highlighting memorable events from ancient Greece to present day. (3 copies available)

A Basic Guide to BOBSLEDDING. 796.9 BAS

A Basic Guide to ICE HOCKY. 796.962 BAS

A Basic Guide to SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING. 796. 93 BAS

A Basic Guide to SPEED SKATING. 796.91 BAS

A Basic Guide to FIGURE SKATING. 796.91 BAS

Cornell Notes

HOME

RENAISSANCE & REFORMATION PATHFINDER

Posted on by 0

1. STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER JUNIOR –

http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581

THE STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER IS NOW HERE! SEE MR. BARNETT FOR THE LOGIN


2. FACTS FOR LEARNING http://www.factsforlearning.com username: terronez – password: facts.

a. Click on the tab that says “grades 5 and above.” Enter your search term. You will be offered encyclopedia articles, reference books, and magazine articles. Also, take note of the additional websites to which you are referred.


3. NETTREKKER – http://school.nettrekker.com/frontdoor/ See Mr. Barnett for username and password. Nettrekker is a safe and reliable way to search the Internet. It offers sites written at your grade level.


4. BIOGRAPHY RESOURCE CENTER (InfoTrac)

http://www.fresnolibrary.org

a. Click on “Articles and Databases”

b. Next to “Biography Resource Center” – Click on “outside of the library”

c. Enter your Fresno County Library Barcode without any spaces.

d. Enter the last name of your person, click on “start of last name” button

e. Click the “Search” button

f. Next, click on one of the articles about your person.


5. INFOPLEASE. http://www.infoplease.com/


********************************************************

WorldBook – to access World Book locally on your computer, simply click on the oval blue icon at the bottom of your dock. If it asks you to register, just click on later – click “no” if it asks you to update.

*******************************************************

For citation help, please go to http://www.oslis.k12.or.us/ — Click on “New MLA Citation Maker” – select the type of publication you are using and follow the prompts.

You may copy and paste information your find into either “Word” or “Apple Works.” SAVE ALL WORK!!!!

DO NOT PRINT OUT MULTIPLE PAGES. CONSULT WITH MR. BARNETT, MRS. TUCKER, OR MS. SOUZA BEFORE PRINTING.

PRINT TO PRINTER B

****** B O O K S ******

1) REF 030 WOR

The World Book Encyclopedia: 2002, 2003, & 2004. Use the index in volume 22 to help you find your information.

(Location: Fifth shelf and between OPAC computers)


2. REF 509.2 BIO

Biographical Encyclopedia of SCIENTISTS: Use the index in volume 5. Information is organized by the scientist’s last name. (Location: Reference Room)


3. REF 510.92 BIO

Biographical Encyclopedia of MATHEMATICIANS: The index is in volume. (Location: Reference Room)


4. REF 909 PRO

Profiles in World History

Most of the information you seek is found in volumes 3 & 4. Use the index in the

back of each volume. (Location: Reference Room)


5. REF 920.003 ENC

Encyclopedia of World Biography

Presents brief biographical sketches that provide vital statistics as well as

information on the importance of the person listed. Information is organized

alphabetically. (Location: Reference Room)


6. REF 920.02 PEA

Explorers & Discovers

Use both the alphabetical “Content” page at the front of each book and the “index” at the back of the book to locate the information you need.

(Location: Reference Room)


7. REF 910 EXP

EXPLORERS AND EXPLORATION

Provides information on explorers — arranged alphabetically – Index in vol. 11.

(Location: Reference Room)

8. REF 940 REN

Renaissance & Reformation Biographies – Vols. 1 & 2

Excellent biographies on many key figures involved in the Renaissance and Reformation. (Location: Reference Room)


9. 92

Biographies

There are many fine biographies in the biography section of the library.

(Location: Fourth Shelf – General Collection)

____________________


CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT PATHFINDER

Posted on by 0

Electronic Databases


1. STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER JUNIOR — plus, many eBOOKS (online books)

http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581

THE STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER IS NOW HERE! SEE MR. BARNETT FOR THE LOGIN

No longer available.

*******************

2. Facts for Learning http://www.factsforlearning.com username: terronez – password: facts.

1. Click on the tab that says “grades 5 and above.” Enter your search term. You will be offered encyclopedia articles, reference books, and magazine articles. Also, take note of the additional websites to which you are referred.

3. Nettrekker — http://school.nettrekker.com/frontdoor/ See Mr. Barnett for username and password. Nettrekker is a safe and reliable way to search the Internet. It offers sites written at your grade level.

4. Check out the many links found at my Black History Page.

Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
Wikipedia also offers students another board online reference work. Use this resource only if you find another source that verifies its information. (Note: that is a piece of advice you should follow for all reference works).

********************************************************

WorldBook – to access World Book locally on your computer, simply click on the oval blue icon at the bottom of your dock. If it asks you to register, just click on later – click “no” if it asks you to update.

*******************************************************

Books – Reference

1. The Worldbook Encyclopedia – REF 030 WOR
2. The Biographical Dictionary of Black Americans – REF 920 KRA
3. Encyclopedia of World Biography
4. Contemporary Heroes and Heroines – REF 920.009 CON

Books – General

1. We Shall Overcome – 323.1 FIN
2. The 1963 March on Washington – 323.1 MIL
3. The Montgomery Bus Boycott – 323.1 MIL
4. Sit-Ins and Freedom Rides 323.1 MIL
5. American Voices From the Civil Rights Movement – 323.1 STR
6. Struggling for Civil Rights – 323.119 FIT
7. Struggling for Civil Rights – 323.119 FIT
8. Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka – 344.73 MIL
9. Going to School During the Civil Rights Movement 379.2. KOE
10. The Little Rock Nine – 379.2 MIL
11. Extraordinary African-Americans – 920 ALT (Students, this is the a great resource).

Biographies are in the “92” section of the library.

_______________________________

Remeber Students — You can access all the electronic resources listed above via the library website at: <https://terronezlibrary.edublogs.org/>).

_______________________________

ELEMENTS PATHFINDER

Posted on by 0

Elements Pathfinder

Print Resources

World Book Encyclopedia. You may look up many of the elements by name. This reference is a good starting point and will provide much for which you are you looking. Skim the appropriate article using the main headings and subheadings throughout the article. Also, use the index (volume 22) to help you navigate through the articles.

Chemical Elements: From Carbon to Krypton by David E. Newton. (REF 546 NEW) This user-friendly three-volume reference work contains alphabetic entries on over 100 elements.
Use the table of contents at the beginning of each volume to find your specific element. Each volume also contains a complete index to the entire set.

Elements by Brian Knapp. (REF 546 KNA) This 18-volume set contains information on many elements. Each volume contains a complete index.

The Elements (series). This series (20 volumes) is found in the general collection (usually). Titles in this series include: Lead, Hydrogen, Magnesium, Chlorine, as well as 16 others.

ELEMENTS – WEBSITES

http://www.chemicalelements.com/
Good site – logical – easily navigated – information is laid out in digestible bites

http://www.chemicool.com/

http://periodic.lanl.gov/
Los Alamos National Laboratory’s Chemistry Division Presents Periodic Table of the Elements a resource for students.
Information about the elements can be found by clicking on the element abbreviation on the table or alphabetically by element name. Includes atomic number, symbol, weight, and electron configuration. Gives a brief history of the element and its sources, isotopes, uses, and properties. Information only goes through element 112. There is additional information on what the periodic table is, how to use it, the naming of new elements, and the Mendeleev’s original table. Designed for elementary through high school students. After you copy and paste the information on this site into a word processing document, you will need to change the font color to black so that you can read the text.

http://www.chem4kids.com/files/elem_intro.html
Simple straightforward site offering basic information on the elements.

http://www.webelements.com
This site provides current information on the periodic table. Click on any element to learn more about it. Read the notes at the bottom of the page for the latest developments concerning the periodic table.

http://education.jlab.org/itselemental/index.html
Jefferson Lab – Good information, straightforward information.

Another good site for finding information on the elements.

Online Encyclopedia

Wikipedia — an online encyclopedia (use with caution — most of the science information is reliable)
 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

Voter Information Guide

Posted on by 1

Here is the link to California’s official “Voter Information Guide.”
http://ss.ca.gov/elections/elections_vig.htm

Here you will find the information on all the propositions. Just click on the proposition and the arguments in favor and against to learn more.

This link is the calvoter.com site. This is a nonpartisan site that offers information and news on the ballot issues.
http://calvoter.com/voter/elections/2006/general/props/index.html

League of Women Voters — Proposition Information
At this site you will find a summary of the ballot measures, as well as links to sites that are both in favor and against the individual propositions.
http://www.smartvoter.org/2006/11/07/ca/state/prop/

This site offers simplified information on the propositions.

http://www.easyvoter.org/site/evguide/section.php?id=9

Remember, all of these sites can be found under the History — Social Studies links on the right side of this blog — simply scroll down to find them.

Election & Proposition Information

Posted on by

Students and teachers, the last post I placed on this blog allowed you to download the state of California’s Information Guide to the propositions.

There are now links to the Secretary of State’s website — plus others — that will provide you with even more information.

Remember to check out both sides of the proposition — those arguing in favor and those arguing against. Looking at both sides of the issue is one of the best ways to understand the issue. Sometimes you must look at the opposition to truly understand the other position.

Students check out the links for these sites under the History and Social Studies category.