Archive for the 'PATHFINDERS' Category
Thursday, November 5th, 2009
Clink on the link to go to the Google Customized Search Engine on Chinese Inventions.
http://www.google.com/coop/cse?cx=003792100115913542655%3Aqnwdef9xk4u
CHINESE INVENTION PATHFINDER
ACUPUNCTURE http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acupuncture
ABUCUS http://www.ee.ryerson.ca:8080/~elf/abacus/history.html
http://www.chinavista.com/experience/abacus/abacus.html
http://ideafinder.com/history/inventions/abacus.htm
COMPASS http://www.smith.edu/hsc/museum/ancient_inventions/compass2.html
http://www.computersmiths.com/chineseinvention/compass.htm
http://inventors.about.com/od/cstartinventions/a/Compass.htm
Compass – Student Resource Center Junior – password needed
GUNPOWDER/FIREWORKS http://www.silk-road.com/artl/gun.shtml
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_gunpowder
http://tinyurl.com/2978gr
KITE http://www.chinavista.com/experience/kite/kite.html
http://www.travelchinaguide.com/intro/arts/kites.htm
MEDICINE http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smallpox
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acupuncture
PAPERhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paper
http://www.silk-road.com/artl/papermoney.shtml
http://www.silk-road.com/artl/papermaking.shtml
http://www.computersmiths.com/chineseinvention/paper.htm
http://www.ricet.net/paper/paper2.htm
http://ipst.gatech.edu/amp/collection/museum_invention_paper.htm
PRINTING http://www.computersmiths.com/chineseinvention/blockprint.htm
http://www.silk-road.com/artl/printing.shtml
http://www.computersmiths.com/chineseinvention/movtype.htm
PORCELAIN http://www.travelchinaguide.com/intro/arts/porcelain.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_porcelain
http://www1.chinaculture.org/gb/en_artqa/2003-09/24/content_37884.htm
RUDDER – JUNK http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rudder
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Junk_(ship)
http://library.thinkquest.org/04oct/00450/chinesejunk.htm
SILK http://www.silk-road.com/artl/silkhistory.shtml
http://tinyurl.com/ytvdz9
TEA http://www.silk-road.com/newsletter/2004vol2num1/tea.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_tea_in_China
http://www.wtea.com/about-tea_history.aspx
WHEELBARROW http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheelbarrow
http://inventors.about.com/library/inventors/blwheelbarrow.htm
http://tinyurl.com/yhrj7yc
PAPER, PRINTING, COMPASS, GUNPOWDER
http://casp.us/justin/china/index.html
http://sln.fi.edu/tfi/info/current/inventions.html
http://library.thinkquest.org/15618/inventor.htm#INDEX & [...]
Posted in ASSIGNMENTS, History - Social Studies, PATHFINDERS | Comments Off
Monday, February 23rd, 2009
COUNTRY REPORTS.ORG
CIA WORLD FACT BOOK
addthis_url = ‘http%3A%2F%2Fterronezlibrary.edublogs.org%2F2009%2F02%2F23%2Fcountry-reports%2F’;
addthis_title = ‘COUNTRY+REPORTS’;
addthis_pub = ”;
Posted in History - Social Studies, Online Resources, PATHFINDERS | No Comments »
Monday, December 1st, 2008
SPORTS
OFFICIAL OLYMPIC SITE
http://www.olympic.org/uk/sports/
OFFICIAL CHINA 2008 SITE
http://en.beijing2008.cn/sports/
NBC OLYMPICS
http://www.nbcolympics.com/
WIKIPEDIA
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page Enter the name of your Olympic sport in the search box on the main Wikipedia page.
BBC SPORT
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympics/default.stm. The British Broadcasting Company (BBC) website. News and explanations of all events from a British perspective.
COUNTRY WEBSITES
1. https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html Use this site to find country information. Click on the drop down [...]
Posted in ASSIGNMENTS, PATHFINDERS, RESEARCH HELP | 2 Comments »
Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
1. BIOGRAPHY RESOURCE CENTER (InfoTrac) http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581
a. Enter password: see the whiteboard
b. Click on the “proceed” button
c. Click on “Biography Resource Center”
d. Enter the last name of your person, click on “start of last name” button
e. Click the “Search” button
f. Next, click on one of the articles about your person.
2. STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER [...]
Posted in ASSIGNMENTS, HOMEWORK HELP, History - Social Studies, Online Resources, PATHFINDERS | No Comments »
Wednesday, March 26th, 2008
Online/Electronic Resources
1. BIOGRAPHY RESOURCE CENTER (InfoTrac) http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581
a. Enter password: see the whiteboard or handout for this information
b. Click on the “proceed” button
c. Click on “Biography Resource Center”
d. Enter the last name of your person, click on “start of last name” button
e. Click the “Search” button
f. Next, click on one of the articles [...]
Posted in ASSIGNMENTS, History - Social Studies, Online Resources, PATHFINDERS, RESEARCH HELP | No Comments »
Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
DATABASES
1. http://www.teenhealthandwellness.com/
username: password: (see white board for info)
STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER JUNIOR — PASSWORD: (see white board for info)
GALE’S VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY — PASSWORD: (see white board for info)
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581
PASSWORD: (see white board for info)
Gale’s Virtual Reference Library contains electronic versions of the U*X*L title Sick!
_______________________________________________
WEBSITES
1. http://www.webmd.com/ This site contains information [...]
Posted in ASSIGNMENTS, PATHFINDERS, SCIENCE | No Comments »
Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Databases & Websites
1. http://www.teenhealthandwellness.com/
username: terronez password:
2. http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581
3. http://www.brainpop.com
_________________________________________
WEBSITES
1. http://www.webmd.com/ This site contains information on most diseases.
2. http://kidshealth.org/ After clicking on the kid or teen pages, enter your disease in the search box and click search for a list of links.
3. http://www.kidsclick.org/ Enter the name disease and click search. [...]
Posted in P.E., PATHFINDERS, SCIENCE | 3 Comments »
Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Electronic Databases (Currently featured on the library website at: <http://terronezlibrary.edublogs.org/>).
Student Resource Center Junior — SEE THE WHITEBOARD FOR LOGIN INFO
Found within this resource is the e-book version of The Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures.
CountryReports.org
Fresno County Public Library Databases
Students who have a Fresno County Library Card may access the Culture Grams online [...]
Posted in PATHFINDERS, SCIENCE | No Comments »
Saturday, December 1st, 2007
Online Databases
http://www.countryreports.org Check your pathfinder for your username and password. Use this resource to find information on your country.
Gale database – Student Resource Center Junior — Check with Mr. Barnett for the login information.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581
WEBSITES
1. http://www.olympic.org/uk/sports/index_uk.asp. This UK site of the Olympic Movement offers some good information on the sports and events, but [...]
Posted in ASSIGNMENTS, General Announcements, Library, P.E., PATHFINDERS, RESEARCH HELP | 1 Comment »
Friday, February 16th, 2007
1. STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER JUNIOR –
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/fres89581
THE STUDENT RESOURCE CENTER IS NOW HERE! SEE MR. BARNETT FOR THE LOGIN
2. FACTS FOR LEARNING http://www.factsforlearning.com username: terronez – password: facts.
a. Click on the tab that says “grades 5 and above.” Enter your search term. You will [...]
Posted in HOMEWORK HELP, History - Social Studies, PATHFINDERS, RESEARCH HELP | No Comments »